top of page

God Will Bring The Right Person: A Story Of Garrett & I


For a while I wanted a boyfriend, like really, really wanted a boyfriend. When you crave love, miss out on love, or come close to love but don't get it, it leave you wanting more. Relationships can be glorified in our society and relationships can be portrayed as a number of things; relationships can be lustful, revengeful, a fun time, a waste of time, toxic, unhealthy, or they can be loving and full of growth. Many people feel the need to be in a relationship just to be in one and this will do nothing but hurt one another in the end. The number one way to be in a successful relationship is to be in it for the right reasons. Do not date just to date. Do not date just to have sex. Do not date to get back at an ex. Do not date just because everyone else is. Dating should not be seen as a hobby; if dating is a hobby for you then make sure it is a hobby for your significant other as well, otherwise you are taking pleasure in breaking hearts. Date to marry, date to get to know someone more and see where it goes, date because you are genuinely interested in someone and want the best for them.

The problem with me wanting a boyfriend was that I didn't want just any guy, I don't want to build a life with just anyone. In response to this the majority of my friends told me "Ally you need to lower your standards", the thing was I didn't really have a specific list of things they had to meet. I didn't want a certain height, or hair color, or eye color; is it too much to ask for someone who respects me and my boundaries, someone who is a christian, and someone who I can have fun with. No it is not and never was too much to ask for, don't trade qualities you want in your spouse for the way majority of people will treat you. I didn't lower my standards but instead asked God to take over. I started to pray because I didn't want to get in a relationship and waste time or get hurt. I prayed that God would bring me he who He thought was right for me, I prayed that whoever God would bring to me that he would be working in their heart as well, I prayed for patience and to rely on God's timing and not my own, and I prayed that God's will be done. It took me a while to put myself on the back burner and trust God, but eventually I did and I stopped craving a boyfriend. Sure I still wanted to be in a relationship, but I wasn't looking for it on my own, instead I trusted God to bring me a man into my life when God felt I was ready. Who knows my heart better than God? Who can take care of me better than God? No one, not even myself. When I let go and put all of my trust into God, God answered my prayers and brought Garrett into my life when I was least expecting it.

On April 11th, 2019 Garrett came into the arcade to play games. I was the only one working and he came to the counter to talk to me, at the time I was doing homework and a number of guys come up to the counter to talk to me so I didn't think much of it as first. The thing is Garrett kept talking!! I liked it though, he was nice and just had a conversation with me; he didn't try to flirt, ask for my socials, or ask for my number, he just kindly talked to me. My first impression of him was "why is this guy so nice?" and his first reaction of me was "she's kind of stand off-ish". Garrett ended up staying at the counter and talking to me for almost two hours, but at the end of the night my mind was thinking "hmm he was nice but I'll probably never see him again". Turns out he got hired at the arcade as soon as I put my two weeks notice in, and for the two weeks he trained we were never scheduled together. Garrett remembered my name and tried looking me up on instagram but there are a bunch a different ways to spell "Ally" so he never found me.

End of June I wanted to take my younger cousins out so I took them to play games at the arcade. When we got there Garrett almost immediately recognized me, I recognized him as well but didn't know that he recognized me or knew that I previously worked there so I acted like any other customer. When went and played games and I didn't go to the front counter, I can be a shy person so I definitley didn't go to the counter without reason. While playing a game I ended up setting down my wallet and never picking it back up and moving on to the next game. Fortunately someone returned my wallet to the front counter where Garrett was working, Garrett happened to recognize that this was my wallet and found my drivers license to find my name... and then he returned it. Im so glad that he did. Garrett later on messaged me on instagram and asked me on a date, I agreed and we talked day and night for two weeks until our first date:)

Garrett was surprised to know that this was my first time ever asked on a date! Yes other guys asked for me to hangout or come over or go to a party with them, but no that isnt a date!! Don't ask me to hangout to see if you kinda sorta maybe like me, no ask me on a date with the intention to get to know me!! Fast forwarding to October 3rd Garrett and I officially started dating:)

If i'm being honest I brag on Garrett every chance that I get, if you know me there is absolutely no way that you don't know Garrett, and today is no exception. Garrett is perfect in every way and words can't express how much I love him. Reaching our one year has gone by at the speed of light and I've enjoyed every step of the way. Naturally when you like a someone you are willing to overlook certain aspects they have that you don't like, but the more I got to know Garrett the more I loved about him. Im personally a confrontational person and I like to lay everything out on the table and have open communication, Garrett does not avoid the hard talks or the awkward talks and he continues to listen to every useless thing I ramble about. Garrett does not drink or smoke or party or care to. Garrett is romantic, literally a man out of a movie scene, he makes all of my romantic gestures look wimpy to his. Garrett is loving; he puts me first even when I dont need to be, never gets annoyed when I cry, kills every spider that comes my way, always walks closest to the road, he cooks, cleans, goes with me on errands, and is willing to suffer being around dogs for me:) Garrett is adventurous, this is a big one for me I crave going out and having fun and Garrett plans unique date nights for us including: visiting graffiti hotels, pet stores when Im sad, movie forts, skating on rooftops, breakfast on train tracks, going to build a bear, etc.

Garrett has been my partner and my go to through the good and the bad and I cannot wait to see what God has in the future for us.

Pictures:







Single Post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page