top of page

Today I turned 17

 Im so grateful for the 17 years that God has blessed me with... but that isnt how I started out my day. It's my birthday!!! It's not like im special or turning 17 is special, but I felt special and wanted instant gradification through others wishing me a happy birthday... this didnt go as planned. I woke up and neither of my parents said happy birthday; I think my dad knew it was my birthday because he offered to take me to starbucks, unfortunately I turned down his offer. With good reason, my friend was supposed to be bringing me starbucks at school so why get two ventis? When I got to school my best friend and another close friend forgot when we were talking about my birthday two days before. Then my friend who was supposed to be bringing me coffee was running late and the traffic and starbucks line would have made him late, which resulted in me getting no coffee:(. Fortunately he is making it up by bringing it up to me by bringing me coffee tomorrow morning, but I wasnt mad partially because he was one of the few people who remembered and he remembered to bring the gift he brought for me. But i didnt have to have a gift it was the thought that counted, he made me feel appreciated. Later on he texted everyone and everyone was coming up to me apologizing and screaming happy birthday. On a good note one of my other close friends sent me a happy birthday paragraph even though she wasnt at school and was currently throwing up - we love a good friendship appreciation no matter the circumstances. I ended up leaving school at 12:30 because I had a ton of homework and needed to pack for Gatlinburg at 12:10 my mom remembered my birthday and sent me a text. But leaving school I kind've felt bitter the day hadn't went as planned and not gonna lie I was dissappointed. But then I went home and got even more upset as my plans were ruined for the day as my boss asked me to come into work, now I didnt have to but I wanted to. I went into work and my amazing boss asked how my day was, I proceeded to tell her how it went and she told me "Ill be back", this wasnt anything unusual I thought she may have went to buy more stuff for our snack bar. When she comes back she asks for a pen and then goes back into her car and then comes back in with a gift bag filled with milanos, candy surprise eggs, a card, a candle, a vase of flowers, and a balloon. This made my day. It wasnt the attention that I wanted it was the appreciation, im not saying that I deserve anything but sometimes I feel like im always there for and doing the most as a friend and get little in return. Not only did my boss listen to me but she made me feel special and appreciated as a person. I began to praise God after I got done thanking her. I praised God for turning my bad day into something memorable, for giving me a job, and for blessing me with a caring boss. God was able to turn my bad day, and my nervousness of working alone into the very thing that changed my whole mood and brought joy into my day. God works in mysterious ways but oh how great He is. 

Single Post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page